Horizon T101 (2019) Review

Last Updated - November 22, 2019
Editor's Rating: 8.1/10
Horizon T101 (2019)
0 4.05 5
This Treadmill Could Be For You If: You’re looking for a budget-friendly, entry-level treadmill  You want a treadmill with a respectable warrant

This Treadmill Could Be For You If:

  • You’re looking for a budget-friendly, entry-level treadmill 
  • You want a treadmill with a respectable warranty
  • You’re new to fitness and want to focus on light to moderate workouts or walking routines

Horizon Fitness distributes low-cost treadmills and other home fitness equipment. Its entry-level T101 treadmill now costs just $599 and is one of the best-selling models in the industry in this price range. It’s an ideal treadmill for those who prefer walking or light to moderate workouts, and are looking for a machine with a compact, foldable design that can be stored easily. Some of its best features include an incline, a Bluetooth speaker system, nine built-in workout programming options, and a respectable warranty.

Further sweetening the deal, Horizon now offers financing options on their treadmills, so if you’re on a tight budget you can still get a quality machine from a recognized brand without paying the full cost upfront.

Although the T101 is Horizon’s best-selling model, the brand also offers higher-end treadmills such as the Adventure 3, Elite T5, Elite T7-02 and Elite T9-02 which are worth taking a look at if you can increase your budget.

What We Like:

  • Price: Horizon treadmills are ideal for those with smaller fitness budgets. Although the T101 was launched with an MSRP of $999, it now sells for just $599 online.
  • Warranty: The T101 has a respectable warranty for a machine in its price class, offering lifetime coverage on the frame and motor, and 1 year on parts and labor. Overall, this is a good deal for a treadmill with its price tag. 
  • Audio: The updated Bluetooth speaker system makes it easy to listen to podcasts and stream music as you work out, helping routines fly by.
  • Exercise programs: The T101’s nine built-in workout programming options are enough to keep beginners challenged. The 30 programs offer time, distance, and calorie targets as well as manual, interval, and weight-loss workouts.
  • Financing: With approval, you can get 6, 12, 18 or 24-month 0% APR plans to help pay for your treadmill gradually.
  • Incline: To help make workouts more efficient, the T101’s track can incline up to 10%. Feel the burn!
  • Heart rate monitoring: You can easily monitor your pulse with the T101’s dual-grip monitoring system.
  • Console: Horizon consoles are user friendly and good looking. The T101’s gray console has three data windows with red LED lighting as well as a cooling fan to keep you comfortable.
  • Portability: The T101 can be folded for easy storage and transport.
  • Stability: Unlike many other budget treadmills, the T101 can support up to 300 pounds.

 

Horizon T101 (2019) Treadmill - Key Specs:

Star Rating:4.05-stars
Motor:2.5 HP
Incline:0 - 10%
Running Area:20" x 55"
Folding:Yes
Top Speed:10 MPH
Weight Capacity:300 LBS
Dimensions:70" L x 34" W x 55" H
Built-In Programs:30

What We Don’t Like:

  • Short track: Although the 20″ x 55″ tread belt is a great improvement on the Evolve SG’s tiny 17″ x 45″ running area, it’s still not long enough for tall exercisers. Spending about $200 more can get you Horizon’s T202 treadmill, which has a 60” track.
  • Motor: The T101’s 2.5 HP motor is suitable for walking and jogging, but won’t cut it for hardcore runners. What’s more, it only supports speeds up to 10 mph. You might find that a machine with a larger motor will provide a smoother experience.
  • Cushioning: The T101’s cushioning is OK, but nothing to boast about. If you plan to use your treadmill primarily for jogging, consider opting for Horizon’s Elite T5 instead; it offers a better drive system, display and warranty that will pay off in the long run.

Our Verdict:

The T101 is ideal for someone at the start of their fitness journey or for those who prefer light to moderate workouts. A few of the T101’s star features include its nine workout programming options which provide exposure to different types of treadmill workouts, Bluetooth speakers for you to stream your motivating workout playlists, and a respectable warranty.

Although the Horizon T101 rates above average for a machine in its price class, don’t be misled. It’s great for what it is: a budget walking treadmill. If you’re on the hunt for a cheap treadmill that’s a bit more advanced, check out the Horizon Adventure 3 or Elite T5. Both have better warranties, steeper inclines and several other upgrades to help keep you motivated.

 

Horizon T101 FAQs

  • Where should I buy the Horizon T101 treadmill?

Buying your treadmill directly from Horizon Fitness online is usually the cheapest option after considering online discounts, free standard shipping and consumer protections. Horizon also offers 0% APR financing options.

  • How much does the Horizon T101 weigh? 

Horizon’s T101 weighs 165 lb. and has a maximum user weight capacity of 300 lb.

  • How do the Horizon T101’s programs work?

The T101 has nine different workout programming options with time, distance, and calorie targets as well as manual, interval, and weight-loss workouts.

  • How many workout programs does the Horizon T101 have?

Horizon’s T101 treadmill has 30 built-in workout programs.



23 Comments

  • Phillip Yew February 23, 2019 at 10:23 pm from nsw Australia
    I wonder where could I get the best deal in term of price for this machine Horizon T101 (2019).
    • Philip February 26, 2019 at 10:03 am
      Hi Philip, As you are from Australia, we don't necessarily know if you can order a T101 like you can in North America or Europe. However, Horizon does have an Australian site, have you tried there?
  • Tara Wilborn March 6, 2019 at 7:52 pm from Morristown, TN
    How many inches does the incline go up with a 10% grade?
    • Amanda B. March 7, 2019 at 12:27 pm
      Hi Tara. For inclines they are measured in percentages and angles based on how many steps you can take at a certain degree to reach maximum effort. For more information on how the mechanics of incline are measured you can read this article https://www.livestrong.com/article/422012-what-is-10-degrees-in-incline-on-a-treadmill/ Unfortunately we do not have the exact amount of inches but most treadmills do not exceed a foot in height.
  • Loretta March 17, 2019 at 2:53 pm from Website
    I applied for the 0% down on the Horizon T101 for 599 with 29.00 off for use of code. I then went back to show my husband the treadmill. When I went back to apply for the 0% down (2x) I was informed that they couldn’t process at this time. How long do I need to wait before reapplying?
    • Amanda B. March 18, 2019 at 5:05 pm
      Hi Loretta. We hope to be able to help you get the deal you are looking for. Have you tried contacting Horizon directly? Here is their Canadian number that will allow you to speak to a representative directly and save you some time 800-244-4192
  • Deborah D April 7, 2019 at 12:20 pm from Red Bluff, CA
    Bought this yesterday, turned it on, it was super quite and smooth running, the fan really helped me stay comfortable I really liked the fact I could lay my iphone and listen to my music and when you incline while walking it's so smooth. I really like all the features on this treadmill and you can not beat the price! Now... only one negative: the second time i turned it on it had a very high pitch sound coming out of the motor area? I will be calling the service / warranty dept on Monday to fix. I would still recommend this treadmill because it has a great warranty and after they fix this problem I will be satisfied.
    • Amanda B. April 8, 2019 at 4:25 pm
      Hi Deborah, we hope that customer service is able to help you sort out the sound from the fan. We are glad that you love all the other features, it is certainly a great machine!
  • Ray April 21, 2019 at 6:10 pm
    I'm 6 foot 4 inchs tall and am only instead in walking. Would I be able to use this treadmill or will I need one with a longer belt?
    • Amanda B. April 24, 2019 at 8:20 am
      Hi Ray, most treadmills have similar running belts. NordicTrack often has some of the larger running belts!
  • Wendy June 2, 2019 at 9:52 am from Missouri
    I am considering buying this treadmill however I'm afraid if I buy a discontinued treadmill I will not be able to get the parts for it.
  • Monica Mucci June 13, 2019 at 10:02 pm from Massachusetts
    So far so good but what are the 4 center buttons for ? They look like a scale, ?, a cord and a place setting? I have no idea what these buttons are for and they aren't labeled in the manual. Thank you
    • Amanda B June 18, 2019 at 11:00 am
      Hi Monica, the center buttons are workout and target profiles built into the treadmill. The scale is for weight loss programs, the cord is for distance settings, and the plate is for calorie burning programs. For more information, you can check out page 20 and 21 of the manual: https://cdn.horizonfitness.rocks/support/documents/Horizon_T101-5_Owners_Manual.pdf
    • Dana T. August 26, 2019 at 11:11 am from Seattle
      I have the same problem. Yes, there are charts on page 20 and 21, but no mention of how to implement them. Nothing in the manual identifies those buttons or how to use them.
  • Stephanie August 8, 2019 at 4:21 pm
    I want to purchase this, I'm 5'4", about 135 pounds, is this suitable to run at about 7MPH for 30 minutes a day 3/4 times a week?? I keep hearing it's not for hardcore runners, but I'm not sure exactly what that means
    • Amanda B August 19, 2019 at 4:46 pm
      Hi Stephanie, this treadmill is best for walking or light jogging, but not for the amount of running you plan on doing. A larger machine with a larger motor will provide a smoother experience for runners. You can check out our top picks for treadmills here: https://www.treadmillreviews.net/best-treadmill/for-home-use/
  • Scott B August 19, 2019 at 7:45 am from Central Missouri
    I am looking for a low cost home treadmill that will be used exclusively for walking. The Horizon T101 seems like a good choice based on my research so far. My aging knees are not the best so cushioning is important. That feature didn’t get high marks from your review. Is there a better option where cushioning is an important priority?
  • Meggie o’hara October 13, 2019 at 8:24 am
    How tall is the deck height? I have low ceilings and wonder if this would work.
    • Amanda B October 21, 2019 at 4:35 pm
      Hi Meggie, unfortunately there is no information on the Horizon website about the deck height. However, most standard treadmills have a deck height of 8"-9". Hope this helps!
  • Brian D November 15, 2019 at 12:17 am
    Hi I'm looking for a winter treadmill for daughter who jogs 30 min a day, around 5 mph. Is the Horizon T101 a good fit? If not which ones would be better? Nordictrack 6.7 or Nordictrack c850s? Oh, and we need a treadmill with cushioning. Thanks!
    • Amanda B December 4, 2019 at 3:58 pm
      Hi Brian, the T101 is a great budget-friendly entry-level treadmill. We recommend a motor with a minimum of 2.5HP for joggers, so this should suffice. However, if your daughter plans to do more than jog for 30 mins a day, we would suggest looking at the Horizon 7.0 AT, which has a more powerful motor and wonderful deck cushioning https://www.treadmillreviews.net/horizon-7-0-at/ or the NordicTrack 7.5S which also has a great cushioning system https://www.treadmillreviews.net/nordictrack-t-7-5s/. Hope this was helpful!
  • David Roberts December 1, 2019 at 11:30 pm
    The manual says not to use in cold temps, but doesn't give a range. I have mine in a unheated sun room. Could you explain what cold temps means in this case?
    • Amanda B December 3, 2019 at 4:31 pm
      Hi David, as informed by a Horizon rep, the "temperature controlled" recommendation would be approximately 60-85 degrees. The treadmill should not be located in a garage, covered patio, near water or outdoors. Do not use treadmill in any location that is not temperature controlled as this will void warranty. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.