Weslo Cadence G 5.9 Review

Last Updated - February 11, 2019
Editor's Rating: 5.1/10
Best Buy Award(s):Under $500

The Weslo Cadence G 5.9 is an entry-level folding treadmill for home use. With a sale price of just $287, it’s one of the cheapest treadmills on our site. Customers shouldn’t expect high quality at that price (most discount treadmills cost at least $799, after all), but the G 5.9 will fit some shoppers’ checklists. The remarkably low price is a big selling point and people with smaller workout rooms appreciate the machine’s small size. Not exactly the most impressive qualities in any treadmill, but certainly valuable qualities for shoppers seeking a basic machine for occasional home use.

Shoppers should note right off the top that the Weslo Cadence G 5.9 is only meant for walking. It can’t serve as a runner’s treadmill because of three rather glaring limitations: track size, horsepower and top speed. Key specs for this discount treadmill are a 50″ long x 16″ wide track, a 2.25 HP motor and a top speed of 10 mph. Runners need much more room to stretch their legs (Heck walkers might even feel restricted by the small size of this track). For comparison, typical treadmills for walkers have 55″-long tracks. Treadmills for runners typically have 60″ tracks.

A ramp is included to help trainees increase calorie burn. It can be manually adjusted and has two positions. This is of course better than no incline choices at all, but most treadmills priced at $500 and up have power-adjustable ramps with at least 10 settings.

The console for the Weslo Cadence G 5.9 has a blue-tinted LCD. It shows speed, elapsed time, distance and calories burned. Six preset workouts are included. Not much, but not nothing either.

This Weslo treadmill has an especially short warranty. The motor is under warranty for just one year, whereas most other treadmill motors have lifetime warranties. The parts and labor coverage is for just 90 days. So, don’t be surprised if this thing breaks down rather quickly. Consider it a the treadmill equivalent of a disposable lighter.

What We Like:

  • Price: The low price is by far the most attractive feature of the Weslo G 5.9. The treadmill sells for a mere $499 or less.
  • Preset Workouts: Six workout programs are built into the console. These programs were designed by a certified personal trainer to take the guesswork out of exercise time help trainees make the most of each session.
  • Space-Saver: Weslo Cadence treadmills are compact. The Cadence G 5.9 has a footprint of just 64.5″ long and 29″ wide. It can be folded to take up even less space in between workouts and the deck can be moved to a vertical position.

Weslo Cadence G 5.9 Treadmill - Key Specs:

Star Rating:2.55-stars
Motor:2.25 HP
Incline:Manual Incline
Running Area:16" x 50"
Folding:Yes
Top Speed:10 MPH
Weight Capacity:250 LBS
Dimensions:68" L x 31" W x 55.5" H
Built-In Programs:6
What We Don’t Like:

  • Very Small Track: The workout area on the Weslo G 5.9 is 16″ wide and 50″ long, which is very small. For comparison, a standard treadmill track for walkers is 20″ wide and at least 55″ long. Even if you aren’t especially tall, you will likely find that the Cadence G 5.9 restricts your stride.
  • Noise: The treadmill belt is thin and moves over small rollers. Also, the treadmill’s frame is lightweight, has plastic parts and isn’t sealed at the joints. (Higher quality treadmills, on the other hand, have steel frames with powder coating, and their bolts don’t come loose.) So, maybe invest in headphones if you don’t like unpleasant grinding noises during your workouts.
  • Manual Incline: The incline on the G 5.9 is adjusted manually rather than electronically, so this treadmill isn’t as dynamic as others. Treadmills with power ramps let trainees seamlessly switch between multiple incline settings within a single workout.
  • No Extras: Unlike most home treadmills, this unit doesn’t have amenities such as water bottle holders, an accessory tray, or music speakers. Such features have become commonplace even on other treadmills under $500, so this is a particularly simple model.
  • Warranty: The warranty for the G 5.9 treadmill is very short, as we’d expect with any treadmill under $500. The motor is under warranty for just a year. Others parts and labor are under warranty for just 90 days.


Our Verdict:

Compared with other treadmills for beginners, the Weslo Cadence G 5.9 is built from lower quality parts and has a very short warranty. Its track size is especially disappointing, even for smaller trainees. The low price and compact frame might be appealing, but by moving into the next price class you could get a cardio trainer that lasts much longer and feels better to use. You get what you pay for with the Weslo Cadence G 5.9. If you need a simple treadmill for a few months and plan on disposing of it after that, this machine is worth considering. Otherwise, check out the brand ProForm for trainers that have quieter operation, more engaging programming, better warranties and other improvements.





The Weslo Cadence G5.9 Treadmill is on sale right now!






This Treadmill is currently on sale!



18 Comments

  • Gerry Mansouri March 21, 2019 at 6:35 pm
    Just wanna state that this is invaluable, Thanks for taking your time to write this.
    • Amanda B. March 22, 2019 at 1:37 pm
      Thank you Gerry!!
  • Casey Keller May 22, 2019 at 6:34 pm from Butte, Mt
    Where can I get just the safety key? Previous one got lost just want to use the one I have for walking.
    • Amanda B May 23, 2019 at 11:15 am
      Hi Casey, you'll have to contact Weslo to get a safety key. Here's the link to request replacement parts on their website: https://www.iconservice.com/CustomerService/parts.do?dr=WL
  • N. Averso June 6, 2019 at 4:55 am from FL
    I wish I had seen this before I bought it. It stopped working two weeks after the warranty expired!! I was so careful with it, even unplugging it after each use to preserve it's electronics. But it still died one year later. Do not buy this treadmill it is trash!! I have a $400 hunk of junk.
    • Amanda B June 11, 2019 at 12:13 pm
      Hi N, Sorry to hear that your treadmill stopped working. If you're looking to purchase a new one, this page has reviews of all of our favorites! https://www.treadmillreviews.net/best-treadmill/for-home-use/
  • Jeri T June 14, 2019 at 8:52 pm from ga
    Hi can I get the Bluetooth to work
    • Amanda B June 18, 2019 at 11:11 am
      Hi Jeri, this treadmill does not have a bluetooth function. If you are looking for a treadmill with bluetooth, you can take a look at our top picks https://www.treadmillreviews.net/best-treadmill/for-home-use/
  • Sue June 17, 2019 at 4:15 pm
    I love mine! It's been working great for 4 years now with no issues! I'm a senior and i use it to get my walking in. Works Great for that!
  • Michelle Stevenson July 26, 2019 at 12:44 am from OKLAHOMA
    I just bought one tonight...second hand for $75.00. I'm real excited to have treadmill that is smaller in size that I can walk on every day. Hopefully, my experience will be more like Sue's experience. I really like it....so far.
    • Amanda B August 1, 2019 at 2:24 pm
      Hi Michelle, this is so exciting! Do give us an update on how it goes for you. Best of luck on your fitness journey!
  • John August 7, 2019 at 8:36 am from Michigan
    I've had my Weslo Cadence G 5.9 for 3 years now, and I found this review site this morning because the motor is finally struggling when I step on it now. I, for one, feel that though it is a much lower value treadmill then its cousins, it absolutely fit my needs and budget and, personally, 3 years out of it with constant use is pretty dang good! I started out with light jogs on it, level setting, power/speed set no more than 5 or 5.2 for 3 miles. The last year I have been using it just about every week for 2 to 2.5 walks about 3 times a week, power/speed set to 4 or 4.2. I personnally have no problem setting the incline manually. I had mine set up (past tense because I think I need a new one or at least a new motor now!) in the basement, in front of my TV to watch Netflix. I always had some sort of shelf, ledge or table near by for water and so on. If you have a limited budget, as I do, and are able to adapt, improvise, and overcome the limitations of lack of water bottle holders and so on, I would say give this little guy a chance! It is much better than nothing, as so noted by others!
    • Amanda B August 7, 2019 at 10:01 am
      Hi John, we are glad that you enjoyed running on your Weslo treadmill! Thank you so much for the feedback and the tips.
  • Greg Riggs August 23, 2019 at 9:06 pm
    I've had mine now for 9 years me and my wife have both use it it's been great if it breaks down tomorrow I sure cant complain. I have lost 80 lbs on mine also.
    • Amanda B August 28, 2019 at 4:50 pm
      That is wonderful to hear, Greg! Thank you for sharing with us and keep up the great work!
  • mark September 22, 2019 at 6:40 pm
    I just picked one of these up for $100. It works good. I am a long time runner ( over 25 years ) and I tried running on it and it was not a problem. I am 5'9 and running was just fine on this treadmill. You can jog on this as I don't think anyone will run on this at 9 or 10 mph because it moves pretty fast and not many people can keep that pace for a long time. Walking is on it is good. The only reason I picked one up is that I have another child on the way and won't be able to take my children on long walks or long running days. I can walk/run at home while watching the things. I don't need all the bells and whistles higher end treadmills offer. So, far this one meets my needs and at $100 I can't complain.
  • Paul Robel November 18, 2019 at 2:59 pm
    Can you preprogam a program just for lite walking routine? I don't want to walk fast ..just plain walk.. Please let me know..I bought mine over ten years ago and it still works!
    • Amanda B December 5, 2019 at 11:36 am
      Hi Paul, this treadmill doesn't have a feature to pre-program your own program. You would just have to use the treadmill in manual mode with the speed set to 1. Here's the manual for the treadmill in case you need it as reference: https://www.manualslib.com/manual/572827/Weslo-Cadence-G-5-9-Treadmill.html?page=11#manual

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.