ProForm 505 CST Review

Treadmills Editorial Team | Last Updated - Mar 16, 2020
Editor's Rating: 7.9/10
Best Buy Award(s):Cheap / Budget

The ProForm 505 CST is a budget-friendly, entry-level treadmill designed for durability and convenience. SpaceSaver design equips this model with the EasyLift folding mechanism, making it quick and easy to fold and store as needed. Thankfully, this compact model does not compromise convenience for comfort.

Designed with ProForm’s ProShox Cushioning, the 505 CST provides users with excellent cushioning throughout the entire running area to protect joints from impact. A 2.5 CHP motor drives the treadmill, offering users a motorized incline of up to 10% and speeds from 0 to 10 mph. However, the running area is fairly compact at 20″ x 55″ (a sacrifice for the compact design). This model also features smaller 1.9″ balanced non-flex rollers that decrease tension and create a smoother run. Again, the small rollers are a result of the compact design.

The console area is pretty basic, equipped with audio functionality, a tablet holder, and water bottle holders. Although we do love that it is iFit enabled. With an iFit subscription, you can connect your tablet to the 505 via Bluetooth and get to work! iFit offers a virtually unlimited library of workout classes and Google Maps running trails across the globe.

Users also have access to a 5″ backlit screen which displays your mileage, speed, calorie burn, heart rate, and time. Eighteen built-in workout programs are also included, developed by certified personal trainers. Some of these programs use your heart rate to make automatic adjustments to the speed and incline as needed. To keep track of your heart rate, you can use the dual EKG grip pulse heart-rate sensors on the handlebars. Unfortunately, there is no wireless monitoring option for this model.

As for the warranty, the ProForm 505 CST treadmill is protected with a 10-year frame warranty, and a 1-year parts and labor warranty.

What We Like:

  • Price: This model comes with an impressive $999 price tag. Even for an entry-level treadmill, that’s a great price for a reputable brand.
  • iFit Ready: The ProForm 505 CST is iFit ready. Just connect your own tablet via Bluetooth and try an iFit class or Google Maps running trail across the globe. It’s like having your own personal trainer as they can automatically adjust the incline on your treadmill, matching the terrain you are watching. Keep in mind that a subscription is required for this.
  • Folding Design: A SpaceSaver design, this model uses EasyLift folding technology to make it incredibly easy to fold and store the machine. The deck is also light and compact, so it’s a good choice for small spaces.
  • Program Variety: For an entry-level treadmill, the 18 built-in programs are a pretty robust offering. These workout programs offer something for everyone and are developed by certified personal trainers. The treadmill will adjust incline and speed in sync with these programs.
  • Audio Capabilities: Though this model lacks some entertainment flair, it does come equipped with dual 2-inch speakers and an audio auxiliary port for you to plug in your smartphone and listen to your favorite workout playlists.
  • Motor: The 2.5 CHP Mach Z™ Commercial Plus Motor is long-lasting and quiet when in operation. It’s not the most powerful motor, but 2.5 CHP isn’t bad.
  • Warranty: This machine comes with a good enough warranty for the price point. This includes a 10-year frame warranty, and a 1-year parts and labor warranty.

ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Key Specs:

Star Rating:3.95-stars
Motor:2.5 HP
Incline:0 – 10%
Running Area:20" x 55"
Folding:Yes
Top Speed:10 MPH
Weight Capacity:325 LBS
Dimensions:73.5" L x 36.5" W x 61" H
Built-In Programs:18
What We Don’t Like:

  • Running Area: This treadmill has been designed to be compact. This means that the running area is fairly cramped at just 20″ wide and 55″ long. This will be an issue for taller users.
  • Speed Controls: 10 mph isn’t too bad, but we like to see speed offerings closer to 12 mph. A running speed topping out at 10 mph may pose a problem if you want to do sprint runs or interval training.
  • Entertainment Options: Aside from if you opt to use this treadmill with iFit (using your own tablet), there are no real entertainment offerings to speak of here. The display screen isn’t too flashy either. You get the basics with this model and not much else by way of fitness tracking or entertainment.
  • Heart Rate Monitoring: The 505 CST comes with two EKG grip pulse heart-rate sensors as well as heart rate monitoring programs, but you cannot use a wireless receiver to track your heart rate.


Our Verdict:

Overall, this model is a pretty good entry-level treadmill for walking to light running, and comes from a reputable brand. Don’t expect to be wowed, but this is about as much as you can expect from a $999 treadmill. ProForm’s treadmills are known for being durable, reliable and easy to use. This machine is no exception. With a space-saving folding design, a durable shock-absorption system, and impressive preset workout program variety as well as iFit-readiness, the ProForm 505 CST is a good option for in-home use (especially if multiple people share the same machine). If you’re on a budget but still want a reliable treadmill, the ProForm 505 CST just might be the machine for you.

Check Price 


24 Comments

  • Mark Snake March 24, 2019 at 7:45 pm
    Dimensions:68" L x 73" W x 36" H This can't be the real dimensions, can it? No way is it wider than it is long...
    • Amanda B. March 25, 2019 at 3:19 pm
      Hi Mark, I took a look on the Proform site and this machine has a belt that is 20" x 55". I hope this helps clarify the size. We may have made an error in the dimensions, we apologize.
  • Butch johnson March 25, 2019 at 5:28 pm
    Upon assembly of my 505 cst I find my handrails on my upright are approx. 1-1/2 - 2” wider than where It mounts up to the console assembly What am I doing wrong ?
    • Amanda B. March 27, 2019 at 3:52 pm
      Hi Butch, we are sorry to hear that you are having difficulty with assembly. Did your machine come with a manual? Have you tried contacting customer service??
  • Lily April 3, 2019 at 3:34 pm
    Hello, my treadmill keeps resetting itself after a two minute pause durning my work out. Is there a way I can take off this feature?
    • Amanda B. April 5, 2019 at 8:12 am
      Hi Lily, this link will direct you to the troubleshooting page of the manual for your machine. Try this and let us know if it works! https://www.manualslib.com/manual/571013/Pro-Form-505-Cst-Treadmill.html?page=22#manual
  • Abcd April 27, 2019 at 1:48 am
    Does it shows the amount of calorie burnt ?
    • Amanda B. April 30, 2019 at 3:43 pm
      Hi there, yes this machine offers the information on calories burnt. You can also connect with a heart rate monitor for a more accurate reading when using.
  • Sandhya Nadkarni May 5, 2019 at 7:11 pm from MA
    Is this treadmill noisy?
    • Amanda B. May 7, 2019 at 1:23 pm
      Hi Sandhya, this treadmill is more compact than some of the bigger models on the market so you may find it slightly louder than other treadmills with a larger belt. The noise is primarily based on the amount of cushion in the belt to reduce the impact of your feet hitting it. We hope this helps you!
  • Ossi Pekkarinen September 10, 2019 at 5:23 am from Finland
    Only bad experiences with that treadmill. I owned this for nine months and after three months of use the incline motor needed maintenance. The last two months I couldn't use it. The incline did not rise and the importer's service did not fix the problem. Loud treadmill what makes hundred different noises. However, I did get a new treadmill but I was happy to change brands.
    • Dominique April 2, 2020 at 5:54 pm from Los ángeles
      what did you get and are you happy with it?
  • Steve Dixon October 18, 2019 at 11:55 am from NC
    Need a manual for cst 505 how do I get one
    • Amanda B October 22, 2019 at 10:50 am
      Hi Steve, here's a link to the manual: https://www.manualslib.com/manual/571013/Pro-Form-505-Cst-Treadmill.html
  • Yesmin October 21, 2019 at 10:13 am
    After 9 months of use had to replace green board and motor. And stil not functioning properly..
    • Amanda B October 22, 2019 at 10:43 am
      Hi Yasmin, sorry to hear you had a bad experience with this treadmill. Were you able to get the new problems fixed?
      • Yesmin October 25, 2019 at 4:55 pm
        A technician will be replacing motor and green board again. And checking on it .
  • Ben October 22, 2019 at 9:35 am from Connecticut
    After assembly which was a challenge, had to contact CS to get it to turn on. Really? Once it was running...... seems like a decent machine. Cant tell yet. Only had it two days. We will let you know. Customer service was very helpful, and listened intently to my issues. Thanks!
  • Brian Hovey December 1, 2019 at 9:08 pm from Papillion, Ne
    Hi We have had this model before, nd may buy it again. We like how it shows on the screen what the program will do next, like increase speed or incline. Is there another model that shows this as well? whats a good alternative to the 505cst, it also seems like a hard model to find. thanks Brian
    • Amanda B December 3, 2019 at 4:27 pm
      Hi Brian, the 505 CST is currently available for purchase on the ProForm website. You can click our link on this review to purchase it! As for alternatives, the ProForm 705 CST is the model above the 505 and works just as great. Here's the review for it: https://www.treadmillreviews.net/proform-705-cst-treadmill/ Other treadmills in the ProForm line, such as the SMART Pro 2000 or SMART Pro 5000, would be great alternatives as well. However, you would have to confirm with ProForm if it has that same feature of showing what the program will do next. Hope this was helpful!
  • Mike December 31, 2019 at 8:41 pm from Carlisle
    I’ve purchased a new pro-form505cst and completely assembled it as well as went on line to activate it and cannot get it to work. I am completely disappointed and want to get rid of this machine. When we bought it based on a demo unit in store , the demo unit worked just fine. This is wrong to put a consumer through this.
    • Amanda B January 7, 2020 at 1:25 pm
      Hi Mike, have you contacted ProForm to sort out the issue?
  • Dale Colegrove February 16, 2020 at 10:53 am from Kansas
    Your warranty details differ from ProForms website. "The ProForm® 505 CST is protected with a 10-year Frame Warranty, 1-Year Parts Warranty and Labor Warranty." Source: https://www.proform.com/treadmills/505cst
    • Amanda B February 19, 2020 at 3:17 pm
      Hi Dale, thank you for letting us know. We will update this info as soon as possible. Sorry for the confusion!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.