Treadmill Motors: What You Need to Know

Whether you’re looking to purchase a new treadmill or looking to update an existing one, knowing about which kind of motor to look for is vital to the success of your treadmill use. The motor is the main hub and carries the most weight mechanically. They vary in their abilities and capacities and are not all alike. It is essential to consider a few different variables with its motor before you make your treadmill purchase. This will ensure that you will bring the right treadmill home that is best-suited for your lifestyle and fitness goals.

Aside from the user, the motor does the most work in the treadmill. It is imperative that quality be assessed for long-term use, especially for more serious treadmill users. Poor quality motors are likely to overheat and require unnecessary repairs. The best way to check if your motor is a good quality motor is by checking the manufacturer warranty. A high-quality motor will have a longer warranty period and is a safer investment. In almost all of our treadmill reviews, we help you by giving the horsepower of the motor and by using the information below can determine if it is best suited for what you would use it for. One company that is known for high quality treadmill motors are Sole treadmills.  They deliver a great product and stand behind it.

When it comes down to the nuts and bolts of the matter, treadmill motors are not wholly difficult to understand. Treadmill motor energy is measured in horsepower (HP) and can be sorted into three different rating systems:

1. Peak Duty: Generally the weakest. “Peak” stands for the peak horsepower that the treadmill will reach and no more.
2. Treadmill Duty: In-between peak and continuous
3. Continuous Duty: The highest rank. The number associated will describe how much power is maintained throughout the workout.

While many motors will claim to be of identical horsepower, it is pertinent to note that every motor is not built the same. Cheaper prices mean that the product consists of poorly made parts. Do not be swayed solely by low prices. A treadmill that originally cost $1000 or more is likely to possess a durable motor. Less expensive models are not likely to have a reliable motor installed.

Assess what kind of use the treadmill will predominantly be used for. The degree of exercise must be taken into account to make sure your motor reflects your lifestyle. Certain levels of exercise require specific amounts of horsepower; will it be for walking, jogging, running, or all three? Consider the following:

  • For walkers: a 2.0 horsepower continuous duty motor will suffice
  • For joggers: 2.5 horsepower continuous duty should be the minimum
  • For runners: 3.0 horsepower continuous duty or higher


Also note that if any of the users of the treadmill weigh over 200 pounds, HP should be increased by .5 for proper support, no matter the fitness goals. This means the HP should be at least 2.5 HP for walkers, 3.0 for joggers, and 3.5 for runners. Such precaution will extend the life of your motor.

As for sound, note that motors employing direct current (or known as DC) cause less noise compared to motors that use alternate current (also known as AC). Remember this when deciding where to place your treadmill, especially if you watch the television while you walk or run, or if the treadmill will be in a high traffic area of the home.

16 Comments

  • Harbhajan Dass February 28, 2019 at 3:46 am from Dusty.ghaziabad U.P State India
    I have rebook treadmill with 1.75hp motor. Motor burnt, how much is the cost of motor, from where I can get,second can I use ac motor instead of DC motor
  • nag May 23, 2019 at 6:44 am from VIC
    how many watts needed for power up transformer
  • Heather Jones May 29, 2019 at 7:21 am from Bedfordshire
    I have a Proform 250 ZLT. It is several years old. Just recently, it has started cutting out. It will run for approx 20 mins at 4.5 - 5km/h. If you increase speed, the time it runs for decreases. Display and incline seem to function fine. When the belt stops, the display continues as though the belt is still running. Any idea of cause and how it can be rectified? Thanks
    • Amanda B June 3, 2019 at 2:46 pm
      Hi Heather, sorry to hear that you are having issues with your treadmill. Unfortunately, we do not have a fix for your specific problem. Have you tried contacting ProForm support? Here's their support page: https://support.proform.com/treadmill-support/
  • Ronald Barba June 6, 2019 at 10:03 pm from Chicago
    Looking to replace a Precor treadmill lower board motor ( # ADEL or AGTY ) ! Know where to get one besides Precor ?
  • Fuard June 28, 2019 at 7:48 am from South Africa
    I have a maxed mxe4000 treadmill. Everything works fine up to about 20min or so, then it just cuts out. I have to switch it On again.
  • Shazwan August 1, 2019 at 9:43 am from Selangor
    Hi, would like to know how long can we run on a DC motor Treadmill continuously? Some people says that maximum is 45 minutes continuously. Is it true?
    • Amanda B August 1, 2019 at 4:29 pm
      Hi Shazwan, unfortunately we do not have this kind of information. You could try contacting the manufacturer directly as they would be better equipped to answer your question.
  • Bernice K. Comer August 2, 2019 at 3:26 pm from Granger, Indiana
    I am looking to purchase a motor for a Tomshoo Treadmill Part no. 25T-80 motor. I received the unit brand new but the motor burned out once it was plugged in. The place of purchase would not give my money back nor an exchange. I am stuck with it. Do you know of anyone that sells motors for these Tomshoo Home Treadmills.
    • Amanda B August 7, 2019 at 10:25 am
      Hi Bernice, sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience. Have you tried contacting the manufacturer directly?
  • Joylie August 21, 2019 at 3:45 am from California
    Very informative thank you. I'm kind of a tall girl... and I'm overweight by about 30lbs...I'm 5'9 I weigh 203lbs and I'm trying to reach 1701bs. I'm so afraid to purchase a treadmill that may be too short for my stride. Do you have any Suggestions for someone my height?
    • Amanda B September 9, 2019 at 11:53 am
      Hi Joylie, most treadmills for home use have a running surface that is between 55"-60" in length. If you are worried about a treadmill being too short for your stride, make sure you choose a treadmill with a running surface that is at least 60" in length. Our top 3 picks can be found here: https://www.treadmillreviews.net/best-treadmill/for-home-use/
  • Frank Sandall September 20, 2019 at 1:38 pm from Spokane Wa.
    how many amp & volts needed to run Preform 905 cst treadmill. 3.0 CHP Mach Z motor
    • Amanda B September 25, 2019 at 2:47 pm
      Hi Frank, according to the user manual, the outlet must be on a nominal 120-volt circuit capable of carrying 15 or more amps. Hope this helps!
  • Josh October 27, 2019 at 11:22 am
    Hi Amanda and team, We're looking to get a home treadmill than can be used about 5 hours per week. I'm a fairly serious runner: most workouts will be about an hour, but some might occasionally be longer. Intervals at 10 mph (no incline), and I weigh 145-150 lbs. And I work out early in the a.m., so noise level is also a consideration, although not essential. What CHP would you recommend? Is 3.5 CHP adequate, or would you recommend something stronger? Thanks! Josh
    • Amanda B December 4, 2019 at 5:05 pm
      Hi Josh, 3.5 CHP is definitely adequate but it never hurts to get a stronger motor, especially if you see yourself increasing the length and intensity of your workouts. Our top treadmills for home use are all great options! You can see our reviews here: https://www.treadmillreviews.net/best-treadmill/for-home-use/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.